On how much I didn’t love Brussels

If Brussels is your favorite city or you’re from there or your grandma’s cousin’s daughter-in-law loves it, I want to hear all about it.  I really do.  I’ll give it a second chance.  But I will say that we didn’t love our day trip from Bruges on Thursday.

In order to be fair, I’ll tell you that we got soaked on the way to the Bruges train station (even with umbrellas), so we started the day pretty soggy.  We also found it to very crowded and not particularly pretty.  After all, their city’s mascot is a little boy peeing.

IMG_2185

That’s not to say the say was wasted or that I regret going.  As many of you know, my girls *love* graphic novels.   As we were preparing for the trip we read not only learned about Mannekin Pis, but Tin Tin and my girls fell in love with Tin Tin, Snowy and Captain Haddock.  They watched the film, some of the television episodes, and read all the books they could get their hands on.  Tin Tin is quite popular in Brussels and features prominently at the Belgian Comic Strip Center, which we got to visit.  It was fun to learn more about Tin Tin, his creator Hergé, and other Belgian comics, including the Smurfs.

IMG_2183

 

IMG_2149

 

IMG_2141

 

IMG_2151

After lunch and more wandering, where we saw some of the preparation for the biannual flower carpet, we visited Mannekin Pis, grabbed a chocolate and caught the next train home.  Luckily, they now had some good reading.

IMG_2164

IMG_2190

 

I’m really glad we went to Brussels for the day, but I’m not in a hurry to go back.  Any of you love Brussels?  Or have you had a similar experience with a city you’ve visited?

3 responses to “On how much I didn’t love Brussels

Leave a Reply

