Biking through Berlin

IMG_0970

When I visited Berlin last year, one of my favorite things was the Fat Tire bike tour, so when we headed to Berlin with my parents on Tuesday, we all decided to do it together.  Really, I loved it so much, I’ve made it my goal to do all four (Berlin, London, Paris, Barcelona) this semester.  And get the t-shirt to prove it!

Since we didn’t have a lot of time in Berlin, it’s a great way to see a lot of the major sights relatively quickly.  We were able to see the burned books memorial (I’ve cried both times I been there), the Berlin Wall, the Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe, Checkpoint Charlie, the Reichstag, the Brandenburg Gate; ride through the lovely Tiergarten; and learn about Berlin’s history.

IMG_0961

I might have wished for a little bit cooler weather for the ride, but it was a lot of fun to ride through the city.  Jane Anne was a pro, and Molly’s “legs didn’t even feel tired” after the six-hour ride (on the trail-along bike behind Bill)!

IMG_0921

IMG_0939

IMG_0951

After the ride, we said goodbye to my parents (sniff, sniff) and headed back to Leipzig just the four of us.  They made it home safely late Wednesday.

IMG_0930

We’re heading back to Berlin for the day next week and planning on seeing a few more sights before we leave this part of Germany.

 

Leave a Reply

