A Goal for 2014

I love lists and goals and things to check off, so usually at the first of the year, I make some kind of resolution. I’ve often done a goal for heart, soul, strength and mind, and I’ve done the one word trend.

This year, though, nothing felt right. Don’t get me wrong, there are things I’d like to do better: eating healthier and putting more in savings are both high on that list. But those are things I’m always working on.

Furthermore, when we turned the calendar to 2014, we were looking at a year where 5.5 months would be spent out of the country. It’s easy to spend all my time and energy thinking about and planning for that trip. While it’s tremendously exciting, I don’t want to miss out on what is happening right now because I’m too focused on something in the future. (As a planner, this a difficult challenge for me ALL THE TIME).

(That’s a lot of prologue for a not-terribly-exciting revelation I had, but here goes.) Six weeks or so into the new year, I stumbled across this blog post and I knew that was it. My one (for now) goal for 2014: go outside once a week.

We’ve always loved being out of doors as a family, but when I reflect on our intentionality about doing it, we haven’t been great of late. Sure, I’ll send the girls into the backyard to play and be active, but I don’t often follow them out there. Shorter days, colder weather, and a busy work week often mean I want to spend the weekend nesting a bit — staying in our pjs, reading, playing games — but the days are lengthening and it’s warming up. It’s time to get outside.

So my goal is to spend a significant chunk of one day a week outside.

This week we started with a bike ride to the zoo. It was a gorgeous (if a bit windy) day and we had a great time wandering around looking at the animals.

It’s may be a bit late, but it’s a good start to the new year. We’ll see what adventure next week holds.

20140216-174402.jpg

One response to “A Goal for 2014

Leave a Reply

