Last 37 things update

Well, 37 has come and gone.  I met some of my goals, didn’t come close to others, and made good progress on a few.  My  37 list is below with things crossed off I completed and an * by the ones I made attempts at.  The others, oh well.

I love lists.  A lot.  So I really enjoyed setting goals and trying to keep them.  It was a fun challenge to motivate me to try some new things.

My favorite items were the bike ride in the Tetons (one of the highlights of my year) and, interestingly enough, the spending fast.

I’m working on a shorter, less ambitious list that I’ll share with you soon.

1.  Cook 52 new recipes from pinterest or my new cookbooks

2. Institute some kind of sabbath in our family*

3.  Go to Germany

4.  Start a new holiday (Thanksgiving or Christmas) tradition

5.  Read 24 books for pleasure

6.  Run a 9k 

7.  Catch up on scrapbooking and start a new system in 2013

8.  Read aloud to the girls nightly

9.  Attend yoga regularly (once a week?)

10.  Blog at least twice a week* – well, mostly! 

11.  Plant something that I can eat 

12.  Begin composting

13.  Explore the Kerrville area

14.  Bike in the Tetons

15.  Commit to more regular date nights with B*

16.  Write a journal article and submit it for publication

17.  Host a conference at ACU – 

18.  Be intentional about being unplugged when the girls are home *

19.  Experiment with natural laundry soap

20.  Attempt some kind of spending fast for a month

21.  Finish the Slow your Home boot camp 

22.  Pay off our Visa card

23.  Cull books from the girls’ bookshelves 

24.  Master the bouldering wall at ACU

25.  Take the girls to swim at ACU on the weekends

26.  Organize and cull my recipes

27.  Apply for a Cullen Grant

28.  Reconnect with at least one old friend

29.  Work on writing with Jane Anne and helping her feel more confident about it 

30.  Plan monthly excursions with the girls*

31.  Begin planning for another study abroad semester

32.  Develop a Rhetoric of Food course

33.  Light candles at dinner more often, especially as the days get shorter

34.  Take more family walks — at least once a week

35.  Find some good crock pot meals for Mondays when the girls are at dance 

36.  Continue our family’s focus on geography that we started this summer (We did art instead)

37.  Go on a “longish” hike in Yellowstone with the girls — maybe Mount Washburn (this was quite ambitious with Molls)

One response to “Last 37 things update

Leave a Reply

