August, sigh

I always feel a little catch in my heart when I turn the calendar to August.  Even though school doesn’t start for us until the end of the month (the 26th), August just flies by and soon the lazy days of American Girl playing, art projects, sleeping in, and massive pillow forts make way for busier days of school schedules, dance, meetings, etc.

Even as the days have flown, we’ve managed a few fun end-of-summer adventures this month.  One of the things I wanted to do before school started again was make it to Fort Worth for the day.  We needed to take the car in, so Bill dropped the girls and me off at my friend Mandy’s house.  Mandy’s family used to live in Abilene and my girls and I miss her and her girls a lot.  Getting to spend the morning visiting and playing was a fabulous treat!

IMG_6495

 

 

After running some errands, stopping at a bookstore (shocking, I know), and grabbing burgers for dinner, we headed to the Amon Carter museum for their Art in the Dark family night.  We enjoyed crafts, a storyteller, an art hunt, and a print making demonstration before heading home.  It was a great day!

IMG_6512

Leave a Reply

