Cooking with Jane Anne

Since real food, cooking, and eating together is a big part of our family ritual, I try to involve the girls in cooking as much as I can.  I’ll confess, though, I’m a bit of a control freak in the kitchen.  (That may be an understatement.  Also, please note that control freak does not equal someone who cooks without making a huge mess.)  As a result, sometimes it’s been hard to let the girls take a central role in meal preparation.  They love to cook as much as I do, so I’m trying to be more intentional about fuller participation in the kitchen.

On Saturday, I handed Jane Anne our copy of Dinner a Love Story (oh, how I love this book), and told her to pick something to cook for dinner on Sunday night.  Because JA is a lot like her mama, she’d already read it cover to cover.

She ended up choosing Tony’s Steak, roasted broccoli, rolls, and pasta salad.  This was Jane Anne’s first time to cook a whole meal (mostly) on her own, preparing the marinade, chopping the veggies, and even helping Bill with the grill.  She also invited Nana and Pop-Pop over to eat with us.  Somehow, I neglected to take any pictures — these shots are from the archives — and the meal was delicious.

This morning as we were heading to school, she said “last night was so fun!” When I asked her what part of last night, she said “cooking!”  I think she’s earned herself a new job!

One response to “Cooking with Jane Anne

  • Carlee Lane

    This is awesome! I especially like the part about JA being a lot like her mama in reading, reading, and then reading some more! She told me Saturday about her plans to make dinner the following night. Sounds like it turned out delicious! What a fun, fab family! I love you Carroll’s!

Leave a Reply

