Extreme Dating

Bill and I did some extreme dating (term borrowed from my friend Sheryl Thomas) this past week.  Twenty-four hours of time together with no obligations!

We left town after lunch on Wednesday (and after stopping by just in time to hear the doctor release my dad from the hospital) and headed east to Fort Worth.  We spend about an hour window shopping, ate a yummy dinner at Texas de Brazil, and then walked over to the Bass Performance Hall for the Mary Poppins musical.

This is the second time I’ve seen the musical, and I think I loved it even more than the first time.  The musical is a good bit different than the movie, integrating scenes and characters from P.L. Travers’ book.  I cried during “Supercalifragilistic,” when Mary Poppins flies away at the end of each act, and when Bert tap danced on the ceiling during “Step in Time” because I was enjoying it so much.  I’m considering becoming a groupie and following the show as it tours.  Next up, Fayetteville, AR!!

We spent the night in downtown Fort Worth, and then got up the next morning and headed to a fantastic Impressionism exhibit at the Kimbell Art Museum.  After lunch, we hopped back in the car and were in Abilene in time to pick up the girls from school.

On the heels of such a busy month, the 24 hours away was a much needed time for Bill and me.  I am so grateful to my dear friends Karen and Houston who were so sweet to keep the girls, even if it meant getting SIX girls ready for school yesterday morning and packing SIX lunches!  They are brave souls!

3 responses to “Extreme Dating

Leave a Reply

