March Madness

March was among the nuttiest months our little family has had in a long time.  At least one member of our family was out of town almost every weekend,  the Provost Search committee met frequently, and the past few days have involved an emergency room visit and hospital stay for my dad.  For a girl whose ideal day means not getting out of her pajamas, a sustained period of busyness and travel is completely exhausting.

My monthly resolution for March was a get outside and take a short walk everyday.  I think it lasted 2 days.  Instead of being a season of renewal, March became a month of travel, meetings and tiredness.

March became about enduring the craziness and, most importantly, extending grace to myself and others.  I didn’t live up to my own expectations for being a mom, wife, friend, professor most of the time.  I look back over the month and I am glad not to have to relive it, but I can also see lots of moments of joy throughout.  Lots of moments when we slowed down to take a walk, read a book, play a game or eat a meal together.

I was reminded that my family and friends love me even when I am tired, irritable, absent and/or take way more than my fair share of the drama conversation.

I have declared April “The Month of No.” I am encouraged that my calendar looks far less crowded than it did in March, and I’d like to keep it that way.  (The work of the Provost Search Committee is finished.  Deleting the standing Friday afternoon meeting from my calendar was thrilling!)  I don’t know if I’ll try to incorporate a daily resolution or just shout “no!” at anyone walking toward me.

So if you see me wandering around in my pajamas or if you start a conversation and I repeatedly say “no,” forgive me.

3 responses to “March Madness

Leave a Reply

