February Resolution Wrap-Up

February’s resolution was to go to bed at a set (early) time.  My goal was to be in bed and turn off all technology at 10:00 and then plan on lights out by 10:30.  That timing would give me about 8 hours before the alarm goes off at 6:40.

I stayed up well past midnight on January 31st, not to use the last moments of my staying-up freedom, but to finish a conference paper due the 1st.  The first half of February, I did well keeping the resolution, some nights having the lights off before 10:00 and being consistent about the timing, even on weekends.  The last half of the month I wasn’t as disciplined, but still managed to unplug by 10:00 at the latest and having the lights out by 10:30(ish) most nights.

I don’t think this will be a very difficult resolution to continue practicing because I can tell a huge difference in how I feel.  The one week that was particularly crazy, I stayed up late several nights and was exhausted.  I could barely function by mid-afternoon and relied on caffeine far more than I wished to.

I also found that it’s easier to keep January’s resolution of being untethered from technology when I’m caught up on sleep.  It’s hard to engage with people or ideas when I’m really tired, so I find that I end up doing something mindless on my phone or computer. Feeling well rested makes it so much easier to want to play a game or read a book or play outside.

I’m looking forward to tackling March’s resolution well-rested!

 

2 responses to “February Resolution Wrap-Up

  • katieleigh

    I seriously need to make this resolution. Good on you for sticking to it!

  • Granny

    Okay, I have to admit it. I tried and tried to start the ‘movie” with this post until I FINALLY realized it was the cell phone. Yes, the tired part rings true.

Leave a Reply

