My Office

It’s not all fun and games around here for me.  I don’t get to spend all day galavanting around with the students and doing crazy homeschool projects (like tasting marmalade.  NB: Paddington likes it a lot more than my girls do.).  I actually have to work.  I’m not teaching this semester, but I have a sabbatical, or what ACU calls a Faculty Renewal Leave, to work on some of my research.  Since Bill teaches on Mondays and Thursdays, I decided that I would spend Tuesdays and Fridays on my research.  Bill does the homeschooling those days, but I give him all the boring stuff and save the fun stuff for me! 😉

My project is a rhetorical analysis that compares the cultural myths/metaphors in contemporary American and British political discourse, focusing primarily on the 2010 elections.  I’m looking at how counter-publics function so I spent the morning reading some Habermasian theory of the public sphere (itself a myth, I think), and critiques of it.  I know that sounds totally boring to most of you, but it was SO fun!

Anyway, here’s a pic of my office and the view.

 

5 responses to “My Office

  • Camille

    Nice digs! I hear the coffee is pretty good around there, too! Enjoy!!!

  • Alyssa

    Can you repeat that? I’m glad you are enjoying yourself. Wish I could fly on over and have a spiced caramel with you.

  • Alyssa

    P.S. Guess what? While watching Harry Potter #4 last night I noticed in the credits that it was filmed at New College!! I was thrilled for you!

  • Nana

    Good excuse to go have a break and drink a chai. You know you are a nerd when. . . Or, you know you are uneducated when you don’t have a clue what Habermasian theory actually is!
    Enjoy. Great to talk to you. Felt like you were here in Abilene.

  • Granny

    I take it Starbucks is international. I had not thought of that previous. Looks like a wonderful place to spend the morning. Love you!

Leave a Reply

