Family Retreating

A couple of weeks ago, our family headed out on the Highland Family retreat.  In the interest of full disclosure, I’ll tell you that I really didn’t want to go.  It’s not that I didn’t think it would be fun; it’s just that we had been going like crazy for about six weeks, and the thought of sleeping in camp cabins didn’t seem all that relaxing.  I did go, and as these kinds of things often work out, it was wonderful, and relaxing, and I got a lot more sleep than I thought.

First of all, it was stunningly beautiful:

Don’t think that I didn’t spend the weekend obsessing about the river.  Oh, I did….

The girls spent about three hours that morning making fairy homes.

Bill managed to get some downtime, too:

My VERY FAVORITE part of the weekend was canoeing with the girls.  I haven’t been canoeing in years, and the girls were so delighted by it.  We went out about four different times.

Also, we had heard a lot of the kids bring their scooters and zip all over the area, so we went ahead and gave JA the one we had gotten her for Christmas.  (Molly already has one.)  It was a great decision; she and her friends has a blast scooting all over the place!

And, yet, we were still pretty worn out after the weekend.  But it was a good tired.

One response to “Family Retreating

Leave a Reply

